The Mental Militia Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: You've Been Flashed  (Read 2963 times)

rockchucker

• ... death awaits you all with nasty pointy teeth!
    • FreedomSight
You've Been Flashed
« on: April 17, 2005, 10:58:47 am »

I don't have a flash plugin enabled. And I never have, except for a couple months ago, I downloaded and installed it because something had me curious enough, but then I turned it off.

So when I heard about the flash player problem Claire just mentioned, I just sort of snickered. But then I've been commenting on abuses of advanced web technology for several years.

Want to get rid of the flash plugin? It's pretty easy. At least under Linux. Just go to the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins directory and remove libflashplayer.so and flashplayer.xpt. Depending on verions and maybe there's some other players for flash and/or shockwave things, you might look for something like libshockwave or files resembling that name.

I don't know how useful the Flashblock extension for Mozilla and Firefox would be here. But I know I've seen a reference someplace to a preference in Firefox for disallowing persistent objects. Don't remember if that's in a patch, or the latest release. I thought I saw it on Slashdot, but I can't find it there.
... it is poor civic hygiene to install technologies that could someday
facilitate a police state. -- Bruce Schneier

Put a little birdhouse in your soul. -- TMBG

FreedomSight

Astra

You've Been Flashed
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2005, 06:03:58 pm »

I kill anything I don't like with the Adblock Firefox extension. I've thought about installing Flashblock to go along with it, but haven't needed it so far.

danhei

You've Been Flashed
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2005, 06:38:54 pm »